Workplace Inclusion

Preventing discrimination in the workplace

You have the responsibility to ensure equal opportunity for workers.

The workplace brings together people of all different backgrounds and identities. As an employer, you have the responsibility to prevent discrimination in the workplace for job applicants and employees based on the following classes protected by federal law: race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability, genetic information, citizenship or immigration status, and veteran status. State and local laws may prohibit discrimination for additional reasons. 

Woman in meeting, looking over her shoulder and smiling

Common Questions

Please select one of the following topics to learn more about your responsibilities based on the protected classes and find out whom to contact if you need more information.

Need more information?

The elaws (Employment Laws Assistance for Workers and Small Businesses) Advisors are a set of online tools developed by the U.S. Department of Labor to help employees and employers understand their rights and responsibilities under federal employment laws.